https://www.amazon.jobs/en/business_categories/student-programs

Amazon

Software Development Engineering Intern

June - August 2019 • Sunnyvale, CA

What I liked

Fantastic team, ability to work directly on real, customer-facing projects, full ownership of project and vested involvement in decision-making process, excellent compensation, fun intern social/networking events, frequent intern-exclusive presentations from senior leadership and career-relevant leaders, beautiful campus, transportation accommodations, generous housing assistance

What I wish was different

More support in finding housing

Advice

Amazon is very driven based off its 14 leadership principles and emphasizes self-actualization, so if you want to ensure a successful experience there be sure to know and use as many of the leadership principles as you feasibly can. Additionally, for most tasks or problems, the onus is on you to come up with a solution however you can, so be sure that you are your own agent in networking and talking to others, using the plethora of internal and external resources at your disposal, and not being afraid to speak up if you need support. This certainly doesn't mean that you are on your own, but rather that the onus is on you to get the help that you need in completing a project.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineering Intern

June - September 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Great team

What I wish was different

Wish it was more technically challenging

Advice

Impactful internship
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Representative

May - September 2019 • Los Angeles, CA

What I liked

I liked that I could choose my own hours.

What I wish was different

I wished I worked in the warehouse that sent packages off.

Advice

Working in a warehouse is a lot of work, but never give up & work hard to get the job done
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Seasonal Associate

August - September 2018 • Portland, OR

What I liked

Not too hard

What I wish was different

More breaks, pay more

Advice

Not really worth it at the time but now since they increase it to $15/hour, maybe worth considering.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

June - September 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Nice people, cool technology.

What I wish was different

less design

Advice

It's always day 1
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

My team!

What I wish was different

Advice

If you are doing an internship, make sure goals are clearly set for you
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

June - August 2018 • East Palo Alto, CA

What I liked

Working for Amazon was great. My coworkers were pleasant to work with and the pay was nice.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Amazon Associate

September 2020 - August 2021 • Sterling Heights, MI

What I liked

Flexibility

What I wish was different

Work Environment

Advice

Try something different.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Developer Engineer Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

I had a great mentor and manager who encouraged me and helped me gain confidence in my abilities. They were very supportive of me learning a lot and allowed me to have a lot of design control in my project and I learned so much. I can not stress enough how much I learned and I will be grateful for the experience always.

What I wish was different

My team was all male and that was socially difficult and I often felt not included, not because they were intentionally excluding me, they just didn't really talk to me.

Advice

You're not going to know everything, they're not going to expect you to know everything, so work as quickly as you can so you can run into kinks as quickly as you can.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Central Ops associate

June - August 2018 • Tempe, AZ

What I liked

Comfortable working conditions, friendly co-workers and leads, timeliness. Manageable difficulty.

What I wish was different

Shifts were based around business need, so they were not conventional. Dispatching took place almost all the time, so there were overnights, early mornings, and a few mid-day shifts.

Advice

It was a good summer job, and there is definitely time to reflect about what you would want to do over the summer. I wish I had looked sooner for employment though.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Associate

July - September 2018 • Hillsboro, OR

What I liked

The work pace is fast and hard there, so you can get a very solid workout working there, while getting paid a decent wage for it. The managers are also fantastic, and want to see you do as well as possible. The hours are also fairly flexible, so you can definitely make the job work for you.

What I wish was different

There weren't a lot of people there other than the supervisors and managers that really wanted to talk to me, despite my general friendliness and willingness to help, so I definitely wish that I had met some more talkative people while there.

Advice

Know going in that if you work hard, you can make some great opportunities for yourself here. Be willing to learn new departments, offer to help where you can, and really try to understand how the job works, and you'll more than excel at this position.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Junior Software Developer

May 2018 • San Luis Obispo, CA

What I liked

I love that the work I did and am doing was real. I wasn't sectioned off to do projects that were put aside just for interns. While smaller in scope and not as time-sensitive, the work I did was just like the senior developers would do. I also love the level of autonomy I was given. I was given a project and requirements, and I was able to ask questions of my mentor or other team members whenever I needed, but I was given lots of freedom to complete my work the way I saw fit; I owned my project from beginning to end. I learned a ton about industry, with code reviews and regular meetings for looking ahead or checking in. Most importantly, I was given access to real systems that supported thousands of daily users, and I was able to dive deeply into these systems to learn about them. I also really valued the amount I had to learn on my own. I spent (and still spend) many hours reading documentation, learning about tools made by other teams, and trying to figure out how to best use the tools available to me. Oftentimes, it was frustrating to have to do so much learning and reading before actually getting to writing code, but the lessons I learned from it were extremely valuable. The fun activities that my office planned for the summer Jr. Devs were also lots of fun, and they led to some good friendships and connections going into this new school year.

What I wish was different

My main complaint was the amount the requirements changed for my summer project. I would design and implement a project almost to completion before being told that a fundamental requirement had to change. While this was extremely frustrating at times, it helped me learn about and get used to the way the real world is - it wasn't just projects with well defined requirements and a clear end goal, but it's a constant back and forth to ensure that the product I was making was the product that our system's real clients would use and enjoy.

Advice

I would say that it is super important to ask questions. I often hesitated to ask about things for fear of being seen as needy or incompetent; however, my mentor and teammates were always happy to help. If I had asked more questions in the beginning, I think I would have been much faster and much more productive as the summer progressed.
1 person found this helpful

Sortation associate

October 2018 - July 2019 • South San Francisco, CA

What I liked

The job was physical and didn't require a lot of thinking, it was a good workout. There were a lot of different tasks that you could perform, so never a dull shift. There was also a lot of overtime available because most people would leave at their eight hour mark.

What I wish was different

The hours, it was a weird time in-between swing and graveyard shift. My hours were 8:15pm to 4:45am three days in a row. It messed up my sleep schedule and I was always dead on Sundays.

Advice

Listen to what the floor supervisors say and do your job to the best of your ability.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Clerk

May 2017 • Carlisle, PA

What I liked

What I wish was different

Advice

Don't be afraid to ask questions and talk to upper management. One of the building supervisors wrote me a recommendation letter for grad school.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

SDE Intern

May - August 2019 • Sunnyvale, CA

What I liked

A lot of influence into how my project was developed

What I wish was different

I wish it was a more collaborative process

Advice

Try to engage with other interns early on
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Area Manager Intern

June - August 2018 • Cincinnati, OH

What I liked

What I wish was different

Advice

Don’t be afraid to not know something.
3 people found this helpful

Area Manager Intern

May - July 2018 • San Bernardino, CA

What I liked

The opportunity to take leadership on a daily basis and see results through implementation.

What I wish was different

Long hours.

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Stocker

August 2020 • Caledonia, MI

What I liked

The easiness.

What I wish was different

Allowed to listen to music. Not bending that much. Less repetition.

Advice

Dont work here unless you want to do monotonous things bending up and down over and over.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Recruiting coordinator

April - July 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Working downtown seattle

What I wish was different

Better work life balance, clearer expectations, better communication

Advice

Bad Managers make your job difficult
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Area manager

May - July 2021 • Dallas, TX

What I liked

Great experience

What I wish was different

Better training

Advice

Don’t get too wrapped up in your project and enjoy the game day on experience
Be the first to mark this as helpful