https://www.amazon.jobs/en/business_categories/student-programs

Amazon

Intern Vendor Management

May - July 2016 • Munich, Bavaria

What I liked

I love the start up environment in my team. It was very easy for me to connect with my manager and had the option to reach out and work on projects that interested me. I also really appreciated how my opinion was taken into consideration even though I was "only" the intern.

What I wish was different

Not much, to be quite honest. Overtime seems to be standard, however. Nobody held it against me when I left but it was common for people to stay longer than 8 hours a day.

Advice

Just apply and be yourself during the interview! If you follow this, you won't have any problems adapting to the work environment. And don't be afraid to be outgoing and reaching out to people. They love helping interns!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Paradigm Delivery Driver

May - August 2020 • Everett, WA

What I liked

Easy job. Good pay. Good hours.

What I wish was different

Nothing. I really liked the job.

Advice

Be coachable and have a good attitude. Of course, there's a small learning curve, but if you have a good attitude and are teachable, you'll get the most out of it.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

June - August 2019 • Palo Alto, CA

What I liked

I had a great support system between my manager and mentor that allowed me to thrive. My work was very challenging and I was forced learn a lot on the fly. Lots of great intern events as well

What I wish was different

Better housing for interns

Advice

Don't be afraid to make mistakes and ask questions; that is when you will learn the most.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Backend Software Engineer

June - August 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

What I wish was different

I wish I could choose the team I was a part of

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Amazon delivery driver

May - August 2019 • San Antonio, TX

What I liked

the hourly wage was for a 10 hour timespan and if you finish your route early you are able to get the same 10 hour pay.

What I wish was different

the location and amlunt of driving to and from

Advice

wear athletic clothes
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sr. Human Resource Assistant Intern

June - August 2019 • Moreno Valley, CA

What I liked

I was able to learn so much. I was able to grow tremendously within 10 weeks as well as learn a lot more about the business and how Amazon runs. My building was also filled with super amazing and smart individuals! I had an awesome mentor that actually was a UC Davis alumni that was in the same major as me.

What I wish was different

I wish I had more guidance through my manager but I was able to struggle and learn more through it.

Advice

Every experience is how you make of it. I definitely recommend students to try their best and push their-selves out of their comfort zone in order to learn and grow.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Shift Assistant Manager

October 2018 - September 2019 • Walker, MI

What I liked

It was fun and I made a lot of friends. Hard work sometimes, but definitely worth it for the money.

What I wish was different

Only part time was available for me. Also had to jump through a lot of hoops with other management.

Advice

If you're in college, don't do this as anything more than a summer job. They aren't flexible with your school schedule at all.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineering Intern

June - September 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Amazon has some really excellent software engineers and it was a privilege to work with them, I learned a lot. The company has a reputation as a sweat shop but it's not well deserved in my opinion; I didn't work too much and my team didn't either.

What I wish was different

There weren't too many intern events or opportunities to meet other interns.

Advice

Amazon has a lot of internal tools that are difficult to learn. Try to get familiar with using them as fast as possible, I wasted a lot of time working through issues related to poor knowledge of those tools. Also go to the tech talks, they're usually pretty interesting.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software developer engineer Intern

July - September 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Fun, and productive work environment with like-minded people

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Flex

June - September 2019 • San Leandro, CA

What I liked

Amazon is place where you clear your mind and just focus on work. You do not have to think of outside forces that may drive your day at work because each day is same as the last

What I wish was different

Higher pay depending on the position you are place in

Advice

Don’t hurt your back. Posture matters
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

June - September 2019 • Denver, CO

What I liked

Lots of resources and support, great team culture

What I wish was different

More clarity on relocation/housing

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineer Intern

June - August 2021 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

I learned a lot

What I wish was different

Work-life balance was bad

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sortation Associate

October 2017 • Miami, FL

What I liked

Decent pay. Benefits.

What I wish was different

Quality of people.

Advice

Stay in school.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Financial Analyst Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Amazon gave me great insight into working in corporate finance at a tech company. Everyone was so intelligent and willing to help. The hours were great and HR worked well with interns too.

What I wish was different

I wish that there was more choice on team placement. I chose to be under Retail but ended up working on the Transaction Risk Management Service team for digital products.

Advice

Amazon encourages self-service. While everyone is always willing to help, I liked having the responsibility of owning one project from beginning to end entirely by myself.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Environmental Health Safety Intern

June - August 2019 • Jacksonville, FL

What I liked

The environment that I came into. The people I met and the connections I made. I learned a lot of valuable skills. I had a heavy work load because they saw potential in me. I had a mentor the whole time, he helped me every step of the way and encouraged me when I needed it. I never felt out of place they are very welcoming. I met so many people from around the country with different backgrounds and I even met a handful of interns from around the country.

What I wish was different

My manager was away a lot because he was the district manager . he was responsible over a big portion of the state. I did not get to work with him as much as I would have liked. The work was very hard and receiving any negative feedback was really hard for me. However that would only help me improve. The only thing I would change is perhaps going during a longer semester. I did not want to leave it felt like I just got there.

Advice

The company is very competitive and if you get an interview congratulations! If you don't keep trying. It is a very driven environment. Do the best that you can and someone even if its not you're manager will notice the hard work. NETWORK! I met people from all around the country that had so many different backgrounds. Do not get discouraged if you get negative feedback, use that as fuel for the next step. Talk to as many people as you can because its scary being in a new company where you do not know anyone. Make friends with the area managers they will help you a lot. Do not be afraid of the management, they only want to help. Go the extra mile whenever you can, they will thank you for it. Even it the internship is not in you're major apply for the experience. I only took 2 supporting classes in safety and got the environmental health and safety internship. The experience I got has helped me so much. At the career fair, companies I talk to always want to ask me about my experience at Amazon.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

The company and the city

What I wish was different

The corporate housing.

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

amazon prime now associate

June 2019 • Springfield, VA

What I liked

That You can create your own schedule, work whenever you like and pay is good. Walk around which I didn't mind.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse associate

May - August 2019 • Walker, MI

What I liked

The pace of the job went by fast and we got a lot of breaks in between.

What I wish was different

The hours. I worked 9:15pm to 5:45am

Advice

Be prepared to be sweating and sleeping through the day if you work nights
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Learned a lot

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Associate

August 2019 • San Bernardino, CA

What I liked

It is a straight forward job and they train you how to use equipment and be safe! There is opportunity for growth and the part-time days/times are flexible with my full-time school schedule.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful